Judson ISD

School Board Recognitions 5-19-16

Pledge leader Katelyn Duran is an exceptional 5th grade student at Coronado Village Elementary School. She has been on the A Honor Roll her entire school career, and is very involved.  She is a member of the Marimba Performance Team, the award winning Robotics team, a member of the Ukelele performance team, a Dual Language student…since kindergarten and involved in Drama club, Art Starz, and gymnastics.  Katie was just notified that she was chosen for the J-Stem program next year.  She has future aspirations of becoming a veterinarian.


Dental Assistance License
Viance Barrera
Courtney Edwards
Tatiana Flores
Paul Finch
Jazlyn Macias-Martinez
Chelsea Ramirez
Shun Sanders
Elvia Sandoval
Sylvia Vasquez
Joshua Walker
Samantha Zendejas

Sedation Certification
Zoe Albidres
Zaria Hall
Aimee Jimenez
Gwen Martinez
Indira Mora
Jazmin Serrano

Receiving Certified Nurse’s Aide License
Shanteenie Broomfield
Mari-carmen Diaz
John Lee
Faith Wheeler
Tyera Williams
Anthony Woodard

Criminal Justice Students
Students in the Criminal Justice Pathway at Judson High School competed at the state level and are a part of the Texas Public Service Association.
•    Placing 2nd place in Brain Bowl was the team of Kerrianne Tuckwood, Marissa Schultz, Joanna Martinez, and Courtney Pride
•    Place 3rd in Police Report Writing was Courtney Pride

Our second recognition comes from the Judson High School Track Team. This athlete recently competed in the Texas Relays in the grueling boys 6-A Steeple Chase event…which is an open event…one of the largest track meet in the country for high school and college athletes. …and he won the race.  If you don’t know what the Steeple Chase event is…it’s a combination of running a long distance and running through and jumping over different obstacles like hurdles and water and such. The only reason he didn’t go to the State UIL Track meet is because it doesn’t have a Steeple Chase event.  Congratulations to Raymond Gonzales. He has accepted an athletic scholarship to run for Texas A&M University next year.

Our next recognition comes from Judson Middle School.  This 8th grader recently competed in the Texas History Day with students from all over the state.  Her entry, "Protected Beliefs, Illegal Actions: Polygamy vs. Law," (on display in foyer) won  The Locke Lord LLP Legal History Award. It’s awarded to an outstanding exhibit that best reflects original research of legal history.  Her exhibit transcended the Junior and Senior divisions of content...it was that good.  Congratulations to Molly Tilton. The judges described her exhibit as one of the best entries they'd seen all day.  Molly picked up $100 along with her contest medal.

Our next recognition comes from the Judson High School Football team.  I know the season has been over for a while, but this guy has been running track for the last few months and he hasn’t been able to be here. He was a defensive back for the Rocket football team and has been a big part of the track team as well.  This student has been giving receivers such fits that he was selected to the Texas All-State Defensive team. Congratulations to Dominque Ramsey. Dominque will attend and play football at Texas A&M University Commerce next year.

Our next recognition comes from the District Energy Management Department and Facilities Planning Department.  Through a well planned and executed strategy, the district has been able to save a significant amount of energy off the power grid. CPS Energy’s Joe Jones presented a nice rebate check totaling $380,349.95  to Energy Manager David Oehler and Facilities Planning Director Victor Valdez.

Our next recognition is from the district purchasing department. The Judson ISD Purchasing Department has a reputation of responsibly handling taxpayer money…just ask the Texas Association of School Business Officials (TASBO).  29 school districts were in the "recognized" category for how they make purchases as a district, but Judson ISD was one of two districts named as recipients of the "Elite" level for the integrity that is shown in purchasing practices and procedures.  JISD won for the large district category. The JISD Purchasing team is led by Director Mike Ashmore.  Working with him are:
Teresa Linnartz, Secretary
Debi Baerman, Purchasing Specialist
Hilary Moore, Purchasing Specialist
Sarah stiller, District Driver
Sarah Higginson, District Driver
Hewitt Ballard, Warehouse Supervisor
Stanley Houston, Warehouseman
Dylan Strunk, Warehouseman

Our next recognition comes from the district’s Counseling Department.  It’s no secret that our counseling department is one of the most honored in the state for its work with students.  Recently that has now resulted in two members of the JISD Guidance and Counseling Department to be elected as officers in the Texas School Counselor Association.  Congratulations to Copperfield Elementary counselor Lindsey Semper elected TSCA Human Rights Chair and JISD Director of Guidance and Counseling Ernest Cox as President Elect of the TSCA. By the way, in January Mr. Cox was picked by the Texas Counseling Association as “Outstanding Counselor of the Year.


Our next recognition comes from Coronado Village Elementary School.  If you haven’t heard, JISD has some of the best music teachers in the state.  So much so that one music teacher has caught the attention of the Grammy Foundation.  After some 4,500 initial nominations from across the U.S. for Grammy’s Music Educator of the Year Award, the list of 25 semi-finalists was selected and then the top 10. She was selected as one of the top ten music teachers in the country by the Grammy Foundation. Along with the award, Bonnie received a check for $1,000 and the school also received $1,000. Congratulations to Bonnie Anderson.

Chief Debra Nicholas and Rosie Lorr from the Bexar County Sheriff's Office gave thanks to Judson ISD for allowing them use of the D.W. Rutledge athletic facility for a successful job recruiting fair back in April.

Dr. Montoya gave many thanks to those that worked hard on the successful passage of the 2016 Bond and handed out appreciation awards to the following people/departments:

Lowell Tackard, Shannon Brown, Gayland Bockhahn, Monica Harris, Robert Doyal, Roland Hinojosa, Randy Panell, JISD Communications and Operations Departments.











Write your comment

(it will not be displayed)

Please leave this field empty: